Independence Day Preparations On

BAGUIO CITY – Mayor Mauricio Domogan last week issued Administrative Order 50, s. of 2012 creating the executive committee for the National Flag Day Celebration on May 28, Independence Day on June 12, and National Hero Jose Rizal's birthday on June 19.

Named as honorary chairman is Congressman Bernardo Vergara, the mayor being the chairman, Vice Mayor Daniel Farinas and City Administrator Carlos Canilao as Co-chairmen and Councilor Peter Fianza and Police Senior Superintendent David Lacdan as action officers.

For the May 28 celebration as to earlier issuances, the Philippine Flag should be displayed prominently in private homes, government buildings, public places and roads by the public sector, government agencies and non-government buildings by individuals, Private and Non-Government Organizations.

Wreath-laying and floral offerings at heroes' shrine are also encouraged.

In Baguio, a program shall be conducted at the Rizal monument. Expected to be invited as guest of honor is a speaker with exemplary contributions in the field of public service and patriotism.

For the occasions, Vice Mayor Farinas is chair for programs, with Councilors Erdolfo Balajadia, Fred Bagbagen, Phillian Weygan-Allan, Nicasio Aliping, Jr., Isabelo Cosalan, Jr., Pinky Chan-Rondez, Joel Alangsab, Nicasio Palaganas, Karminn Dinney Yangot, Richard Carino, and Edison Bilog. All department heads are also included in the committee.

Councilor Elmer Datuin is chair for the national flag day, independence day and Rizal's birthday celebration where seminar-workshops focusing on heroism for the present times, shall be conducted. The academic sector are encouraged to send their students to the activities, as these are considered as activities worthy commemoration of the national hero.

Bishop Carlito Cenzon, Atty. Edilberto Tenefrancia, Tourism Officer Benny Alhambra, the academic sector, Commission on Higher Education, the Baguio Tourism Council, and the Rizalistas are members of the committee.

For the technical peace and order, including aesthetic concerns, and venue preparation, Councilor Phillian Weygan-Allan takes charge. Members include: SSupt. Lacdan, City Engineer Leo Bernardez, City Buildings and Architecture head Engr. Oscar Flores, General Services Officer Romeo Concio, City Disaster and Risk Reduction Management Council representative Janice Singiten, Fire Officer SSupt. Richard Villanueva and the Baguio-Benguet Volunteer and socio-civic groups.

The city administrators office staff headed by Amelia Joan Clerigo shall be secretariat for all the activities.

Preparation of policies and guidelines, proper implementation of all activities and supporting activities are the responsibility of all members of the committees.

Search News