Six New National High Schools in Baguio

BAGUIO CITY—Six annexes of the Pines City National High School and the Baguio City National High School have become independent national high schools due to bills authored by Congressman Mauricio G. Domogan.

The first was the Pinsao Annex of the Pines City National High School (PCNHS) that became independent when Republic Act 9843 was signed by President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo on December 10, 2009. It was then followed by the Magsaysay Annex of the same school and the Roxas Annex of the Baguio City National High School (BCNHS) when RA 9865 and RA 9869, respectively, were signed into law by the President last December 20, 2009.

Then on December 31 during the First Family’s stay at the Mansion House, President Arroyo signed into law RA 9894 converting the Joaquin Smith Annex of the PCNHS into into an independent National High School. Again on January 7, 2010 the President signed RA 9918 that separated the Bonifacio Annex from the PCNHS and RA 9881 that also separated the Loakan Annex from the BCNHS. Both annexes are also now national high schools.

The six legislative measures were parts of the 40 bills of local and national significance principally authored by Cong. Domogan since he started his third term as representative in June 30, 2007.

The schools will now have  their own separate budgets to be allocated by the Department of Education, will have their own principals and other officials and personnel needed for the better delivery of services to the students and the communities they serve, Congressman Domogan explained.

Furthermore the Solon said that with these schools rising from the shadow of their mother campuses, the school officials and their students will now be challenged to excel and make their own names in comparison with other educational institutions, private or public.

Except for the Bonifacio Annex which will now be called the Guisad Valley National High School, all the five other schools will be carrying their old names.


Search News